Hello!

Going to begin my blogging adventure with a little “About Me.” So here it goes. 😉

     I’m Cathleen. I’m 17 years old and I am a senior at Divide County High school in the teeny tiny town of Crosby, North Dakota! 

 
My dad died a little less than a year ago of lung cancer. (December 31, 2014 

 About 3 or 4 months ago I was diagnosed with polycystic ovarian syndrome. God that answered so many questions for me. 

Why am I so hairy?

Why is it so hard for me to lose weight?

Why is my period so painful?

Why is my period so irregular?

The answer to all of those questions was PCOS. But how do I fix all these things? I can’t. There is one treatment for PCOS and it happens to be metformin, which is used for treating people with diabetes. Metformin works for some and not for others, and I’m not part of the some. I’m part of the others. Yippee!

The body hair. Yeah I knew that this pill wouldn’t make it fall out. I have male body hair. My chest. My boobs. My stomach. My butt. Very attractive, right?

The weight. The doctor said most people lose 60 pounds within the first three months of being on metformin. That alone was a selling point for me. I have always been a big girl but no matter what I try I cannot lose weight. But that 60 I was told I would lose? I gained 30. After getting a very physical job, eating very consciously, and trying to lose weight, I still gained weight. 

The painful periods? They’re still here. My periods are what I imagine 10 days of labor would be like with no medication.

The irregular period. I get it for a week. A week after, I get it again, for a week and a half. Then, I don’t get it for 4 months. 

So what do I do next? Or do I just live with this? 

Leave a comment